I Am Resolved

Image result for new years resolutionsIt has been a very long time since I have made a New Year’s resolution. After failing to keep most of the ones I ever made I quit deceiving myself and ceased the practice. Nineteen-eighty-five or so was the last time I kept this long-held tradition. But, for 2017 I believe I am going to return to the custom. So here goes . . .

I resolve to:

  • Not eat tomatoes and onions by themselves.
  • Not eat cooked spinach.
  • Not eat okra unless it is battered and deep fried, and
  • Not eat asparagus, artichokes, and Brussels sprouts in any form.

I resolve to:

  • Eat all things pork except Spam and pickled pig’s feet.
  • Eat all things beef except the internal organs, especially liver.
  • Eat all things fowl except livers and gizzards.

I resolve to:

  • Not eat too much goat cheese.
  • Not eat American processed cheese food.

I resolve to:

  • Leave Braunschweiger and Souse to my German ancestors and
  • Eat more food from my Scotch/Irish and Native American heritage.

New Year’s resolutions date back at least 3000 years and have become a tradition in western cultures. As a boy growing up in church we regularly attended New Year’s Eve watchnight services. About one or two minutes before midnight it was customary to pray the New Year in with promises made to God. The verses of this old song reflect the kinds of things one may have prayed.

I Am Resolved

I am resolved no longer to linger,
Charmed by the world’s delight,
Things that are higher, things that are nobler,
These have allured my sight.

I am resolved to go to the Savior,
Leaving my sin and strife;
He is the true One, He is the just One,
He hath the words of life.

I am resolved to follow the Savior,
Faithful and true each day;
Heed what He sayeth, do what He willeth,
He is the living Way.

I am resolved to enter the kingdom,
Leaving the paths of sin;
Friends may oppose me, foes may beset me,
Still will I enter in.

It is reported that people who make resolutions are ten times more likely to make progress toward their goals than those who make none.

If, like me, you decide to make some resolutions this year there are at least three categories to consider.

  1. Personal improvement goals: This may consist of physical and/or mental health, finances, career, education, and special destination trips.
  1. Social objectives: Such things include improving social skills, making new friends, bettering family relationships, and serving others less fortunate than you.
  1. Spiritual aspirations: Prayer, Bible reading and study, church attendance, and becoming more involved in your church are common aims.

The best way to hit your target is to:

  • Keep your resolutions to a limited number, perhaps one to three.
  • Make a written record of your resolutions and log the progress you make as you go along.
  • Get accountability from friends and family.

My resolutions for 2017:

After losing 80 pounds over the past three years and making no progress in 2016 except to maintain, I resolve to lose 20 pounds in 2017 and keep it off.

Because it is important to help my grandchildren come to know and follow God, I resolve to teach them Christian catechism for 2017.

Although the following is one of my regular practices, I want to become more consistent, thus, I resolve to pray with my wife of a morning and before going to sleep at night five of seven days per week in 2017.

Our God – Father, Son, and Holy Spirit,

Let me trust in Your omniscience, seek and follow Your will, and rest in the confidence that Your plans for me are for good and not for evil. May I rely on Your omnipotence and with assurance know that through Your powerful grace I can face whatever comes my way and it will not overwhelm me. Remind me that You are omnipresent and You will never leave me nor forsake me. Help me when I do not understand Your ways to depend upon Your wisdom and not substitute my lesser knowledge for Yours. Teach me to accept that You know what is best for me. Thank You, God, for Your goodness. You are good all the time. All good and perfect gifts come from You. Give me the grace to achieve the righteous desires of my heart.

To the Father, through the Son, and in the Holy Spirit we pray,

Amen.

Happy New Year

